Skip to content

Top Ten Things I Love About the Start of a New School Year

August 15, 2012

For the first time in five years, I will not have my own classroom this year.  Instead, I will be a teaching assistant while I go back to graduate school.  Still, as I watch my head teacher struggle through getting his classroom ready, I can’t help but reminisce about the good old days when that was me.   And so I came up with a top ten list.

Top Ten Things I Love About the Start of a New School Year:

1.) Mounting each incoming student’s name on a picture of a vicious, man-eating shark.  Then, to make it cutesy and age-appropriate, I write, in giant bubble letters, “5B: Hungry for Learning.”  (I am all about cutesy elementary school bulletin boards, provided that they can somehow incorporate man-eating sharks.)

2.) Splurging on a NEW stapler.

3.) Big plans.  Like the time the band director and I agreed that we’d reenact the Battle of Gettysburg out on the athletic fields while her band students played Civil War tunes as if they were the drummer boys.  (This did not actually come to pass that year, but it would have been cool!)

4.) Rearranging desk patterns for several hours until I come to the conclusion that my original pattern would actually work the best.

5.) Putting sticky labels on things.  Especially when they go on perfectly straight!

6.) Avoiding teachers’ lounge gossip about my incoming students so that I can form my own opinions.

7.) Agonizing over things that never end up making a difference.  (Which name game will I use on the first day of school?  Which color folder should be for English and which should be for social studies?)

8.) Seeing old students who inevitably wander down to the elementary school to see their old classrooms and to demonstrate the fact that they’ve grown four inches both in height and in middle school awkwardness.  (At these moments, I can barely contain myself from enveloping them in a bear hug and embarrassing the heck out of them.)

9.) The shy and terrified looks of new students who pop in with their parents to see the classroom.  I usually just show them their desk and their cubby, and that seems to make them feel better.

10.) The hope, the optimism, and the grand expectations that come with the beginning of a new school year and a new stapler.

From → education

2 Comments
  1. Ashley permalink

    I love the new promise of each school year, too!

Leave a Reply

