Skip to content

Running Three Miles in the Houston Sun: a Sonnet

August 15, 2012

Black baseball cap pulled over squinting eyes,

its blackness draws sharp heat onto my head.

I should have done this run before sunrise,

but heavy morning kept me in my bed.

The cap and my light shirt should keep me cool,

but sweat and salt have caked my clothes and skin.

A water fountain rises like a jewel.

I fall upon it, mouth as dry as tin.

My hands and feet swell up like puffer fish.

My sports bra chafes, as do my inner thighs.

The shredded wheat from breakfast gives a swish.

My heart upon my stomach heavy lies.

I planned to run nine miles around the park,

but stopped at three, my vision going dark.

From → poetry

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

